Florida Tax Lien Certificates

Florida tax lien certificates are sold at Florida County tax sales on or before June 1st of each year. The maximum interest rate awarded on Florida tax lien certificates is 18% per annum. Florida tax lien certificates are sold to the bidder willing to accept the lowest interest rate. According to Florida statute, investors will receive a minimum return of 5% over the life of the tax lien certificate.

(2) When a tax certificate is redeemed and the interest earned on the tax certificate is less than 5 percent of the face amount of the certificate, a mandatory charge of 5 percent shall be levied upon the tax certificate. The person redeeming the tax certificate shall pay the interest rate due on the certificate or the 5-percent mandatory charge, whichever is greater (Sec. 197.472 (2) ).

The delinquent owner has as little as (2) or as long as (7) years to redeem his or her interest in the property from the date the tax lien certificate was sold. To redeem, the delinquent owner must pay all delinquent taxes, cost and interest to date. The amount due the Florida tax lien certificate holder is calculated and a check or ACH transfer deposit is created by the Office of the Tax Collector and sent to the Florida tax lien certificate owner.

Florida Internet Auction Practice Web site
Visit Florida Internet Auction Practice Web site

If the Florida tax lien certificate is not redeemed, the purchaser of the tax lien certificate may, as early as two (2) years but no later than seven (7) years, request and begin a tax deed application process with the Office of the Tax Collector. If the Florida tax lien certificate remains unredeemed it is scheduled for a public auction tax deed sale in the County Courthouse by the Clerk of Circuit Court.

The bidder with the highest bid at the Florida tax deed sale is awarded the owner of the property. If the property is classified as non-homested, the opening bid is the amount of the delinquent property taxes, accrued interest, plus costs and fees involved in tax deed process.

If the property is classified as homestead, the opening bid is half the current assessed property value plus all delinquent property taxes, interest, fees, and costs.

Tax Sale Type: Tax Lien Certificates (Sec. 197.432 New Window) and Tax Deed (Sec. 197.502 New Window)

Contact: County Tax Collector (Sec. 197.332 New Window)

Interest Rate: 18% per annum (Sec. 197.172 New Window)

Penalty Rate: None

Bid Procedure: Bid Down (Sec. 197.432 New Window)

Redemption Period: Two (2) years (Sec. 197.502 New Window)

Law: Florida Statutes, Title XIV, Chapter 197, "Tax Collections, Sales, and Liens." New Window

Additional Notes:

Important: Florida is unique in that no matter what the winning interest rate is, the investor will, at least, receive a 5% penalty.

(2) When a tax certificate is redeemed and the interest earned on the tax certificate is less than 5 percent of the face amount of the certificate, a mandatory charge of 5 percent shall be levied upon the tax certificate. The person redeeming the tax certificate shall pay the interest rate due on the certificate or the 5-percent mandatory charge, whichever is greater (Sec. 197.472 (2) New Window).

In Florida, once the 2 year redemption period has elapsed and the homeowner had not redeemed, the investor must file an application for the tax deed with the county. Next, the county will attempt to sell the property at the tax deed auction.

The opening bid on an individual certificate on nonhomestead property shall include, in addition to the amount of money paid to the tax collector by the certificateholder at the time of application, the amount required to redeem the applicant's tax certificate and all other costs and fees paid by the applicant. Sec. 197.502 (6)(a) New Window.
The opening bid on property assessed on the latest tax roll as homestead property shall include, in addition to the amount of money required for an opening bid on nonhomestead property, an amount equal to one-half of the latest assessed value of the homestead. Payment of one-half of the assessed value of the homestead property shall not be required if the tax certificate to which the application relates was sold prior to January 1, 1982. Sec. 197.502 (6)(c) New Window.

The money collected from the sale of the property will satisfy the tax lien including interest.

(1) The holder of any tax certificate, other than the county, at any time after 2 years have elapsed since April 1 of the year of issuance of the tax certificate and before the expiration of 7 years from the date of issuance, may file the certificate and an application for a tax deed with the tax collector of the county where the lands described in the certificate are located. The application may be made on the entire parcel of property or any part thereof which is capable of being readily separated from the whole. The tax collector shall be allowed a tax deed application fee of $75 .

 

Florida Tax Sale Discussion

Below you will find a collection of the latest user questions and comments relating to Tax Lien Certificates Florida.

Type your question or comment using the form below:

 

comments powered by Disqus
Paul Phillips
I purchased a few Tax Liens in Feb. 2011. I have since moved changed address and phone number. I kept my email address. How do I find out if any of the Tax Liens have been redeemed?rnThanks,rnPaulrn
LUIS VARGAS
I BOUGH OVER TEN TAX LIEN CERTIFICATES HERE IN FLORIDA. AFTER APRIL 1 2016 I COULD APPLY FOR FORECLOSURE OF THE PROPERTY. DO I OWN THE PROPERTY OR ARE YOU GOING TO SELL IT TO ANOTHER BIDDER. I DO NOT UNDERSTAND IF I PAY THE REQUIRE TAXES FOR THE NEXT TWO YEARS I OWN TH PROPERTY IF THE PEOP0LE IN THE PROPERTY DO NOT PAY THE TAXES. IS THERE FRAUD THAT PEOPLE SELLING THE TAX LIEN PROPERTIES ARE GETTING PAYAND THEN THEY OR FRIENDS BUY THE PROPERTIES FROM UNDE US. PLEASE EXPLAIN AND I GOING TO LOOSE MONEY OR DO I OWN THESE PROPERTIES IF I PAY TAXES FOR THE NEXT TWO YEARS. THANKS MAJOR VARGAS
Nina
As a private lender, can I find out who bought the tax certificate on the property on which I loaned funds?rnrnThanks
jep tatum
I appreciate you listing some Florida Counties and the contact info on your website but why don't you list ALL counties? Thanks!Jep TatumLivingston, TX
Mark A
Brevard County handles tax lien certificate and tax deed property tax sale auctions for the City of Orlando. Scroll to the bottom of this page and click on Brevard County to view more detailed information about Brevard County.
Chris
Where can I find tax sales near Orlando?
jeri Perryman
If I purchase a tax certificate, and on the second year apply for the tax deed, why does the county still bid out the tax deed to the highest bidder? Can I file for Qiut title and gain ownership with out the county bidding out my tax deed?
Stan Smith
How many years must you hold a tax lien deed in florida without challenge before you can clear any clouds from title
TaxLienUniversity.com
Hello Warren, Florida is a great state for purchasing tax lien certificates. Florida statute requires notification of the tax lien certificate sale beginning 3 weeks before the sale which is usually on or before June 1 of each year.
Warren Cook
I am really interested in purchasing Florida Tax Lien Certificates, does anyone know when Florida Tax Sales occur?
Click here to post your question
 

Counties located in Florida

The following is a list of counties located in the state of Florida.

Tax Lien Certificates for properties located in the following counties are sold at Florida county tax sales.

Learn more about each county's individual tax sale process by clicking on the name of the county for which you are interested from the list below:

County / Municipality:  Population: 
Alachua County, FL  217,955
Baker County, FL  22,259
Bay County, FL  148,217
Bradford County, FL  26,088
Brevard County, FL  476,230
Broward County, FL  1,623,018
Calhoun County, FL  13,017
Charlotte County, FL  141,627
Citrus County, FL  118,085
Clay County, FL  140,814
Collier County, FL  251,377
Columbia County, FL  56,513
Desoto County, FL  32,209
Dixie County, FL  13,827
Duval County, FL  778,879
Escambia County, FL  294,410
Flagler County, FL  49,832
Franklin County, FL  11,057
Gadsden County, FL  45,087
Gilchrist County, FL  14,437
Glades County, FL  10,576
Gulf County, FL  13,332
Hamilton County, FL  13,327
Hardee County, FL  26,938
Hendry County, FL  36,210
Hernando County, FL  130,802
Highlands County, FL  87,366
Hillsborough, FL  998,948
Holmes County, FL  18,564
Indian River County, FL  112,947
Jackson County, FL  46,755
Jefferson County, FL  12,902
Lafayette County, FL  7,022
Lake County, FL  210,528
Lee County, FL  440,888
Leon County, FL  239,452
Levy County, FL  34,450
Liberty County, FL  7,021
Madison County, FL  18,733
Manatee County, FL  264,002
Marion County, FL  258,916
Martin County, FL  126,731
Miami Dade County, FL  2,253,362
Monroe County, FL  79,589
Nassau County, FL  57,663
Okaloosa County, FL  170,498
Okeechobee County, FL  35,910
Orange County, FL  896,344
Osceola County, FL  172,493
Palm Beach County, FL  1,131,184
Pasco County, FL  344,765
Pinellas County, FL  921,482
Polk County, FL  483,924
Putnam County, FL  70,423
Santa Rosa County, FL  117,743
Sarasota County, FL  325,957
Seminole County, FL  365,196
St Johns County, FL  123,135
St Lucie County, FL  192,695
Sumter County, FL  53,345
Suwannee County, FL  34,844
Taylor County, FL  19,256
Union County, FL  13,442
Volusia County, FL  443,343
Wakulla County, FL  22,863
Walton County, FL  40,601
Washington County, FL  20,973

Tax Lien University, Inc. is an educational organization, and individual performance depends upon the individual skills, time availability, and dedication of each student. Testimonials included may not represent typical results. Unique experiences and past performances do not guarantee future results. Tax Lien University, Inc. its owners, employees, and affiliates do not give investment or financial advice and are not licensed as brokers by or registered as advisors with any agency. If legal advice or other expert assistance is required, the services of a competent professional person should be sought.

Master Tax Liens & Tax Deeds

Master the steps and strategies of buying tax liens and tax deeds with our FREE 4-DISC Training Course

You can immediately download the course for no charge or if you prefer, just pay a small shipping fee and we'll mail it to you.

Get the FREE Training Course.

 

Tax Lien Certificate States

Research all fifty (50) states to determine which offers the right interest rate, redemption period, and more.

Click here to learn more.

 

Customer Support with Tax Lien Certificate Questions

Tax Lien Certificate Reports

Below is a list of free articles on how to profit with tax lien certificates, tax deeds, and more.

 

The Rule of 72 Calculator

The rule of 72 says that to find the number of years required to double your investment at a given interest rate, you simply divide the interest rate into 72.

 

Interest Rate: %
Years Required for Principal to Double
    Exact Answer:
    Rule of 72 Estimate:

 

For example, if you want to know how long it will take to double your money at eighteen percent interest, divide 18 into 72 and get 4 years.

 

Our Educational Materials

Creating Wealth Without Risk™ was designed to help you take full-advantage of safe, certain, and high-yielding tax lien certificates and tax deeds.

Click here to learn more.

 

Tax Lien University Reviews

"I purchased 3 tax lien certificates at an internet auction for Miami-Dade County, Florida. All three were buildable vacant lots in moderate income neighborhoods. The prices were: (1)$1,018.86 (2) $1,224.90 (3) $1,654.82. I got 18% interest on all of them. I placed 39 bids in total."

- A. Hamad, Florida
June 9, 2011 6:17:32 PM MDT

"I thought that the course were very clear and easy to understand as well as being highly informative and to the point. The information contained within is worth thousands and thousands of dollars. I would recommend that any one serious about being a smart investor buy these books and put it into action!"

- S. Roy, London

"Thank you for your great work. I received you training manuals last night and haven't been able to stop reading. I would recommend this course to anyone who is interested in getting into Tax Lien Certificates."

- J. Bennett, California

 

 

State Tax Sale Summaries

Research each state's individual tax sale process including whether it is a tax lien certificate, tax deed, or tax deed hybrid, redemption period, bidding method, and the interest/penalty rate by clicking on the name of the state below:

- Alabama Tax Sales
- Alaska Tax Sales
- Arizona Tax Sales
- Arkansas Tax Sales
- California Tax Sales
- Colorado Tax Sales
- Connecticut Tax Sales
- Delaware Tax Sales
- Florida Tax Sales
- Georgia Tax Sales
- Hawaii Tax Sales
- Iowa Tax Sales

- Idaho Tax Sales
- Illinois Tax Sales
- Indiana Tax Sales
- Kansas Tax Sales
- Kentucky Tax Sales
- Louisiana Tax Sales
- Maine Tax Sales
- Maryland Tax Sales
- Massachusetts Tax Sales
- Michigan Tax Sales
- Minnesota Tax Sales
- Mississippi Tax Sales

- Missouri Tax Sales
- Montana Tax Sales
- Nebraska Tax Sales
- Nevada Tax Sales
- New Hampshire Tax Sales
- New Jersey Tax Sales
- New Mexico Tax Sales
- New York Tax Sales
- North Carolina Tax Sales
- North Dakota Tax Sales
- Ohio Tax Sales
- Oklahoma Tax Sales
- Oregon Tax Sales

- Pennsylvania Tax Sales
- Rhode Island Tax Sales
- South Carolina Tax Sales
- South Dakota Tax Sales
- Tennessee Tax Sales
- Texas Tax Sales
- Utah Tax Sales
- Vermont Tax Sales
- Virginia Tax Sales
- Washington Tax Sales
- West Virginia Tax Sales
- Wisconsin Tax Sales
- Wyoming Tax Sales